Victory of Jesus

Prayer Journal
Sunday, May 17, 2009

You are a beautiful, unrepeatable Miracle.
You are worth the air you breathe and the space you take up.
God did not make a mistake when He created you.

Ree says that those words are a fundamental truth. Today, You showed me. You showed my heart. The story:

Today in church, they started playing “Above All.” I love that song. But when I started singing, God said to listen. To hear what He was saying to me. So I listened.

Above all powers, Above all kings,
__Above all nature, and all created things
Above all wisdom, and all the ways of man,
__You were here before the world began…

And the words sank in. God is great. He is high in power and authority. Great, valuable, wise, eternal. Then the song takes a plunge and a twist – suddenly:

Crucified, Laid behind a stone
__You lived to die, Rejected and alone
Like a rose, Trampled on the ground
__You took the fall
___And thought of me
_____Above all.

The point flew home. The death, burial, and resurrection – they were all for me. He gave me a snapshot in my head. Here’s the closest I can get to doing it justice:

It’s a garden. There’s a stone tomb, and the stone is rolled away. I see two people, Yeshua, and me. Yeshua has resurrected. He grabs me and lifts me off the ground. He’s overjoyed. I am His beautiful, unrepeatable miracle. He has fought a hard battle, but it’s over. He has won. And I am the prize. There has been an epic duel, with me as the stakes. Jesus has won. So His arms encircle me and He lifts my feet off the ground and spins us around. “I got you!” He says.

_____Another image:

A dark, sinister tower. I was held captive by sin and shame. Caught like a damsel in distress. Jesus scales the walls and rescues me. His love breaks my chains; I’m free. Free at last, and loved. He’s Aslan, at the stone table:

“When a willing victim dies in a traitor’s stead, the stone table will crack, and
__death
___itself
____will
_____start
______working
_______backwards.
Then, to the witch’s house, to awaken the dead. And to the battle.

I’m afraid that art has portrayed Him as much
_________________too somber.

“Jesus Christ, for the
____________________joy

________________________________set before Him,

_____endured the cross,
__________despising its shame,
_______________and sat down at the right hand
_________________________of the Father.

Everything clicked.

I’m the treasure the man found in the field.
I’m the pearl of great price.
I’m the one God sold everything for and bought.
I’m the joy set before Him.
The goal of God’s earth-mission was
to get me.

I am the damsel in distress,
___________________________He is my hero.
I’m the one that He rescued
___________________________because He lovingly wanted me.

When Jesus fought death, my soul was on the line.
He does not see me as “boy, he needs a lot of work.”
__________He sees me as the prize.
I’m Sleeping Beauty; He’s the prince who slays the dragon.
I have worth. I have value. He wants me. I was His from the start – His beautiful, unrepeatable miracle. But I was stolen.

_____And now He got me back. He won. He rescued me. With everyone else.

And this changes everything.

_____Thank You So Much God!!!

-Your beloved,
David

4 thoughts on “Victory of Jesus

  1. THIS IS TRULY AMAZING. We are the pearl the man sold everything for…i never saw that. That is beautiful. I need to soak in these words and what they mean because the power of it is overwhelming. Wow, i pray to fall deeper and deeper in love with my Savior. I see your journey Dave, and I know Yeshua is smiling at you. He is crazy about you…and you know what? He is crazy about me too!

  2. "Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God." -Hebrews 12:2. 🙂 That's a really good point. We ARE the "one God sold everything for and bought". And yes, we are the joy that Christ saw at the cross set before him. I believe that the joy was seeing the ones he dearly love becoming children of God. We are declared righteous and suddenly are reconciled to have the blessing of calling God our Father. 🙂

Comments are closed.