The Sword and the Letter Opener 3

“Walking where?” I protested, trying to figure out what was going on.

“TO HEATH!” he exclaimed. “Haven’t you been listening?” Then, to himself, he said, “Everything they told me about people from earth is true. They’re stupid!”

“So where IS Heath?” I asked, hoping for a more detailed explanation.

“Right here.” He shook his head in obvious frustration with my lack of intelligence. “May I have your leave, sir, to go to Heath, and then to return here?”

“How long will it take?”

“A second.”

I nodded. He took a step toward me, and was gone. I looked around for him, and then back at my desk. My letter opener was gone, too! Then he was back, as if he had stepped into our world again, from another one.

“How did you do that?!” I asked incredulously.

“By walking,” he said. Alexandar was beginning to look very frustrated with me.

“What about me?” This was my most important question. Could I escape this world of insanity and checkbooks to balance and a girlfriend who was starting to get possessive, and could I do it simply by walking? And if I did, would I be able to disappear like he did?

“What about you?” he asked impatiently. “Look, sir – ”

“My name’s Roger,” I interrupted. “And my question was, Can I go to Heath? By walking?”

“Roger, I have a fair lady to win. I ask that you will please excuse me. I’ve chased down Yeisril halfway around the worlds, and now I finally have her back in my possession. I really must go.”

“What does a sword have to do with winning a fair lady – or that particular one, even?”

“Honor, Roger! Haven’t you been listening?!” Alexandar’s hair almost stood up on end and he drew Yeisril. “Honor is important. Sher stole my mighty sword and hurled it into your world, and I’ve traced it for months until it found its way into your possession. I’ve been watching for a long time, but couldn’t figure out a way to get back into your world.”

“Wait, who is Sher?”

“My arch-enemy! My word, Roger, you are slow.”

“I’ve had enough of this talk about me being slow! You haven’t explained anything to me!”

“And YOU have detained me quite long enough. Now, if you’ll pardon me, I must be going!”

“Wait! How can I get into Heath like you seem to be able to get here?”

“You walk there.” And the little man took a step and was gone.

