Focus Part II

I got a motorcycle permit and signed up for the motorcycle safety program, and yesterday I did the first riding part of the practice. (I rode a blue suzuki DR200SE… it looks like this… I promise there’s a point to this.

While we were getting our gear on, our instructors told us that two things are important: keep your head up, and look where you want to go. Being David M. Schell, I automatically grabbed the spiritual connection. The principle is LOOK WHERE YOU WANT TO GO.

Our instructors stressed that this was critical, especially on turns. When you turn a bike, you absolutely must look where you’re going, and not look down. Where your eyes are looking is where you’re going to end up.

Then they sent us out to practice, where each and every one of us, one way or another, demonstrated this principle. When I did well, it was when I was looking where I was trying to go. I looked, and the bike obeyed. I looked down to make sure I was within the lines and had to twist the throttle a bit to keep from tipping. “You looked down,” the instructor said. “Keep your head up, and look where you’re going.”

After that ride, he once again stressed his point: “If there’s roadkill in your path of travel and you focus on it to try to avoid it, you’ll hit it every time. But if you just look past it toward where you’re going, you’ll swerve right around it, guaranteed.”

If there’s trouble in your path of travel and you focus on it to try to avoid it, you’ll hit it every time. But if you just look past it toward where you’re going, you’ll swerve right around it, guaranteed.

I found one of my notebooks on the top shelf and I found a page where I’d written down a bunch of my fears. Three pages of them. I found something interesting there, too:

All these fears lead me to an irrational conclusion of doing exactly what will lead to them being realized. Every single fear, for me, at its core, leads to the same end result I am afraid of.

The solution was to present my fears to God, which is the very thing that I did. Presenting them to God, like I said in my last blog, puts the focus on Christ.

In the words of the writer of Hebrews,

Therefore since we also have such a large cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us lay aside every weight and the sin that so easily ensnares us, and run with endurance the race that lies before us, keeping our eyes on Jesus, the source and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that lay before Him endured a cross and despised the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of God’s throne.

We must keep our eyes on Jesus. Don’t look down, and don’t focus the obstacle in your path. Look where you want to go, and you’ll swerve right around it.
site stats

0 Comments 0 Kudos
