Monday, November 07, 2005

So I was at Walmart on an errand for my mom, and I had just grabbed the lettuce when I spotted an acquantance of mine who I’ll call Randy.  We talked for a few minutes, then he invited me to his church and suggested that I bring my King James Version Bible.  I should have known from this statement that I was dealing with a card-carrying member of the King James Version Only Club.  Maybe I did and just foolishly went on, I don’t know.

So anyway, I stuck my foot in my mouth and said that I was kind of stuck on my New American Standard.  “Randy” looked at me as though I were standing at the door of Hell itself with one foot over the treshold and stepped closer as if to stop me from going over the edge.  I informed him that it was actually closer to the original Greek.  He seemed rather horrified, so I continued (?), “My dad learned at Bob Jones University that it was closer to the original Greek and Hebrew, and there’s this one guy who goes there who takes Greek, who checks his Greek homework by the NASB.”

“Bob Jones University is teaching that the New American Standard is closer to the Greek?”  He couldn’t have looked more shocked had I told him they were teaching that Satan and Jesus were brothers.

“Well actually, it was the teacher in his Greek class,” I replied.  He seemed rather relieved, but not by much.

“Which Greek is it, the Apocrypha, the Vulgate, the Textus Receptus?”  I realized I was rather out of my league and tried to shrug it off.  “Well, you know…”

But anyway, my dad told me later that it was actually the dozens of copies of the original Greek that are closer to… nevermind.

NOTE TO READERS: If you are a KJV only, I apologize and hope you are not offended.  The KJV is a decent Bible, but I prefer the more literal NASB.  Please do not bother flaming me, I will not be convinced.  If you are of the opinion that Satan and Jesus are brothers, please DO post so that I will be given the opportunity to change your mind.  Thanks.

–Jonathan Hancock.

Posted 11/7/2005 12:47 PM – 19 Views – 4 eProps – 2 comments

2 Comments

Visit Skywalker07's Xanga Site!
if i said i thought Jesus and Satan were brothers…what would you do to me?
–karah tebunah–
Posted 11/8/2005 4:03 PM by Skywalker07

Visit the_tyrant_flycatcher's Xanga Site!
alrighty then, I believe that jesus and satan are brothers! ;O
~Gabriel Joseph Hipple
Posted 11/13/2005 10:36 PM by the_tyrant_flycatcher
